This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Austria

Austria is made up of 9 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Austria. Information on all primary administrative regions in Austria.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Austria alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Austria

There are 9 regions in Austria in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Austria
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Vienna Wien1.1,569,316Vienna Vienna1,691,468
Styria Steiermark2.1,185,175Graz Graz222,326
Upper Austria Oberösterreich3.1,400,851Linz Linz181,162
Salzburg Salzburg4.533,083Salzburg Salzburg150,269
Tyrol Tirol5.692,214Innsbruck Innsbruck112,467
Carinthia Kärnten6.565,762Klagenfurt am Woerthersee Klagenfurt am Wörthersee90,610
Lower Austria Niederösterreich7.1,576,622Sankt Poelten Sankt Pölten49,001
Vorarlberg Vorarlberg8.359,737Bregenz Bregenz27,611
Burgenland Burgenland9.281,022Eisenstadt Eisenstadt12,190