This website collects and stores your anonymized IP address (see Privacy policy) and uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you accept our use of cookies.

Regions in Austria

Austria is made up of 9 primary administrative regions. Have a closer look at the regions in Austria. Information on all primary administrative regions in Austria.

Please click on a region name for more information on this region.

You can sort the regions in Austria alphabeticallyby population by capitals of the regionsby capitals population

Primary administrative regions in Austria

There are 9 regions in Austria in the primary administrative level.
Primary administrative regions in Austria
RegionNoPopulationCapitalCapital population
Vorarlberg Vorarlberg1.359,737Bregenz Bregenz27,611
Burgenland Burgenland2.281,022Eisenstadt Eisenstadt12,190
Styria Steiermark3.1,185,175Graz Graz222,326
Tyrol Tirol4.692,214Innsbruck Innsbruck112,467
Carinthia Kärnten5.565,762Klagenfurt am Woerthersee Klagenfurt am Wörthersee90,610
Upper Austria Oberösterreich6.1,400,851Linz Linz181,162
Salzburg Salzburg7.533,083Salzburg Salzburg150,269
Lower Austria Niederösterreich8.1,576,622Sankt Poelten Sankt Pölten49,001
Vienna Wien9.1,569,316Vienna Vienna1,691,468